Sold out to be “Souled out”

My soul brotha, Jam Capistrano, who has a lot of soul in his singing talked to me about the significance of the soul in glorifying God. I would like to share with you a revelation I had when we had that talk.

As human beings, we are composed of body, spirit, and soul. In our soul sits our intellect, will, and emotions. David knew this very well. David, being the artist that he was, was very in touch with his emotions – a very soulful guy. In fact if you look at the book of Psalms you will notice David addressing the soul many times.

As I read those verses I realized that the soul is a powerful tool in our worship to God. If we allow the Spirit to empower us to command and guard our soul for the greater good, then we can get that chance to glorify God in an awesome way.

Allow me to show you top three commands we should give our soul.

1. Command your soul to have faith in Christ alone for your salvation.

My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from him. (Psalm 62:1 NIV84)

2. Command your soul to chill knowing that God’s love takes away all fear, anxiety, worry, and depression.

Why are you downcast, O my soul?Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and (Psalm 42:5 NIV84)

3. Command your soul to respond to the call to do greater things for God.

I delight greatly in the Lord; my soul rejoices in my God. For he has clothed me with garments of salvation and arrayed me in a robe of righteousness, as a bridegroom adorns his head like a priest, and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels. (Isaiah 61:10 NIV84)

Let everything in you give praise to God – body, Spirit and do not forget the soul.

Express your love for God.

Be sold out to be souled out for Christ.

Leave a Reply

