Choosing To Believe

Today, my Wife and I will be making our way to the hospital. She’s almost 7 months pregnant and she’s been feeling a certain heaviness for two days now. Last year we lost our baby girl on her full term. Situations like these tend to shake us… But we choose to believe…

In what?!

The obvious? That there’s something wrong with her? That she may have to be on bed rest the for the remainder of her pregnancy? That the baby is probably in danger?

Situations cause us to believe in the equivalent circumstance, and that’s not wrong. In fact that’s called facing the reality of this world. You should do that. Denial is destructive. We really need to take an honest assessment of every situation. But is facing the reality of this world the “it”? Is it all we hope for, believe in? Is it the dead end?

“Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.” Hebrews 11:1

I’m glad that I believe that it isn’t the “it”. I’m glad that I can believe for a miracle, for healing, for peace and joy in the midst of this situation. I’m glad that faith was given to me by Someone who sees and knows more than what meets my human eyes and senses. Now that faith was given to me by God.

That’s why I can choose to believe for good, because He is good. I can choose to believe that He will never leave me nor forsake me because He told me so in His Word! I can hold on to my child’s destiny because God says that He already holds it in the palm of His hand.

It’s not blindly believing, it’s seeing things from a higher perspective. It’s not positivity, but it’s trusting in God’s abilities.

And here’s the ultimate reason why I choose to believe.

“And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.” Hebrews 11:6

I desire to please him. And I want my reward of healing, peace, joy, provision found only in His presence.

If you’re in a similar situation, instead of acting out in worry and anxiety, try these.

1. Pick up that bible.
2. Study it and allow it to study you.
3. Ask God for a greater revelation of His love and power.
4. Choose to believe.

20140602-105310-39190567.jpg

Leave a Reply

