Corrective Vision Of Prayer

You who answer prayer, to you all people will come. (Psalm 65:2 NIV)

your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven. (Matthew 6:10 NIV)

We are overjoyed by the coming of our second child, Blake. But this did not come as smoothly as we wanted.

On Aug 20 we were scheduled just for an ultrasound to check if my wife, Marielle, was ready for delivery on Friday. But the Sonologist saw that we had an emergency situation, so in a matter of an hour they had to deliver Blake.

I prayed. I cried out to The Lord to answer my cry for help. That’s a good thing. But one thing I forgot to do is to pray for His will to be done. To trust in His will.

Sooner I was reminded of an excerpt from Philip Yancy’s book “Prayer”.

“Prayer helps correct myopia, calling to mind a perspective I daily forget. I keep reversing roles, thinking of ways in which God should serve me, rather than vice versa. “I need the corrective vision of prayer because all day long I will lose sight of God’s perspective. Prayer and only prayer restores my vision to one that more resembles God’s.”

Thank God Marielle delivered a healthy baby Boy. But God delivered a message that will forever change my prayer life.

I learned that when we pray, yes!- we should present our requests to God. Trusting God’s ability and faithfulness to make it happen. But at the same time, we should always trust in His good, pleasing and perfect will.

So may you pray with faith to believe that nothing is impossible, combined with a declaration to trust in His perfect will to be done in your life.

IMG_5224.JPG

Leave a Reply

