Giving it back

I love Marielle so much! How bout that for an intro. What a blessing it really is to be her Husband. And now that she has been a Mother to our Blake Elisha, I have fallen in love with her in a whole new way.

As I blog this, I am feeling under the weather having fever, bad cough, (really bad!!!) and colds. The Wife has mustered up the supernatural ability to take care of two babies (I’m the other one just incase you didn’t catch that).

In all this I remember her saying to me, countless times, how great a Dad I am to Blake!
She says this while she is the one waking up every two hours to express breast milk for Blake. She tirelessly sings him to sleep every night, lovingly picks him up every time he needs to be held. (Blake is 20 lbs at 3 months vs 5ft 100 lbs Marielle). And at this point she chooses to be hands on in caring for our second born.

I remember the scripture that says…Don’t be selfish; don’t try to impress others. Be humble, thinking of others as better than yourselves. Philippians 2:3 NLT

Through Marielle’s example, I realized that this truth applies in marriages too. Imagine competition in marriages, or a unending cycle of accounting of chores. Marielle has the grace to even praise me when I honestly know that she really does most of the baby chores.

So I write this blog to honor her before all of you. It’s the least I can do.

…On second thought, there’s shopping and dating too.

IMG_0151.JPG

One thought on “Giving it back

Leave a Reply

