The Best of Rest

I had a blast this weekend! My family (in-laws) and I went to Cebu to support my sister-in-law (Noelle) who joined a major triathlon event. Little did I know that I would be in for such a treat. 
We were blessed to have a room with a balcony facing the beach. Because of such a breath-taking view, I seized the opportunity to schedule my quiet time there first thing in the morning. The first morning, I found myself reading the Word in my quiet little nook overlooking the beach with so much gusto, worshiping God, and waiting for Him to speak.
I realized two things: First: The beauty of creation still cannot compete with the beauty of God’s presence. In fact, it actually complemented it. Second: It was not only because of the magnificent setting that made me experience this–it was the choice to seek Him. This makes sense not because I make good choices, but because it’s only by His grace that He has led me to this promise found in His Word…
You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart. – Jeremiah 29:13



I believe that when you seek God with all your heart and He encounters you, a peace of a different kind and an inexpressible joy comes like a flood wherever you may be. And it trumps the feeling of being in any desired destination in the world. 
I’m writing about this experience to underscore an important truth – God is the rest you’ve always been looking for, and that rest can only be found in intimacy with Him. 
Will you choose to come close to God even if your location is so pristine that it distracts you? Or if your location is so uncomfortable that it produces many excuses to turn your back on Him? 
…Make that choice to come close to Christ no matter what. 
Nearness is a gift, but closeness is a choice” – Jim Lafoon 


Our hearts are restless till they find rest in You.” – Augustine of Hippo 
Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” – Jesus Christ (Matthew 11:28) 
    

One thought on “The Best of Rest

Leave a Reply

