101%

I love my job! Every meeting seems to be filled with passion. I salivate at the thought of seeing my desk, taking the first call, resolving customer issues, dealing with difficult employees, I just love my desk job!

Is this how you feel every time you hit the daily grind? If you’re honest with yourself, probably not. 

Don’t get me wrong though. I’m not talking about performance. In fact you probably get the job done, but here’s the question: Do you really truly love your job? And if so –Why? 

A Realization in the Making

Nine years ago, I remember landing a job that I needed but didn’t necessarily like. Most days, I found myself dragging my feet to work. As a result, I found myself just giving my bare minimum. In this same season, I was also a worship leader at church, and every time I had the opportunity to lead worship, I would give my 101%. 

Then, I encountered this verse.

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving. – Colossians 3:23-24

That’s when it hit me. All the while, my religious mindset got the better of me and fooled me into thinking that I was doing good in worshiping God while singing at church and not necessarily while sitting at my work desk. This very verse made me realize that I was far from doing that.

Work and Worship

Worshiping God is not limited to songs, volunteerism, and church attendance. It’s about giving your best in everything, knowing that your excellence at work and every other area of your life is a form of worship unto God. After I had this realization, I saw my stats rise up from the grave. Shortly after came favor and promotion. But more than just the promotion, the best reward I got was that I found a new motivation for going to work and that there was an extra spring to my step daily. I simply had fun reporting for duty, building stronger relationships at work, and going the extra mile.

Understanding that you ultimately work for SOMEONE GREAT great gives you the motivation to do your best daily, not out of obligation but out of gratefulness and with a true sense of purpose. 

Reflect

1. Are you giving your best at work daily? 

2. What and who drives you to give your best at work? 

3 thoughts on “101%

  1. Pingback: Wanted: Promotion  | Michael B. Manahan

Leave a Reply

